You’re Engaged, Now What?!
Tips on what to do when you get engaged.Read More
Here are answers to your legal questions about applying for a marriage license in New Jersey:
Where do we apply for a license?
If you both live in New Jersey, apply at the municipal office in the bride’s town. If the bride is from out of state, apply in the groom’s town. If you are both nonresidents, apply in the town where you plan to marry. If you are both brides or both grooms, choose one of your New Jersey hometowns to apply in. It’s a good idea to contact your local registrar well in advance of your wedding to find out what days and what hours the registrar will be in the office. Some towns require an appointment.
When should we apply?
This is where there’s MUCH confusion among brides. You can APPLY for your marriage license in New Jersey up to six months BEFORE your wedding takes place. The registrar then needs at least 72 hours to process your application. BUT, here’s the catch: Once you PICK UP the license, it’s only good for 30 days, so you need to time this so that your license will still be valid on your wedding day.
How much does it cost?
The fee is $28, payable in cash or money order at the time of your application. Some towns accept checks.
What do we need to bring?
-A witness, 18 years of age or older.
-Proof of identity: either a driver’s license, passport or state or federal I.D.
-Proof of residency.
-Your social security card or social security number. This is required by law for U.S. citizens and will be kept confidential.
Do we need a blood test?
No, a blood test is not necessary in New Jersey.
Do we need to live in New Jersey in order to get married here?
No, there are no residency requirements.
Are there any age restrictions?
The minimum age to marry in New Jersey is 18, or 16 with parental and Family Court consent.
How long is the license good for?
A New Jersey marriage license is valid for six months, unless the registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one year. If the license expires before being used, a new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted.
Do we have to do anything with the license after the wedding?
Five days after the wedding, the person who performed your ceremony should file the license with the registrar in the community where the ceremony took place.
This will be my second marriage. Do I need to show proof of my divorce?
Yes, the registrar will ask to see a copy of your divorce decree.
Cover photo from Kristin and Tom’s wedding at the Madison Hotel, shot by Janine Collette Photography